Vehicle Overview
The Maserati GranTurismo is a four-seat, two-door grand tourer sold in Britain in three versions: the GranTurismo with a 3.0-litre twin-turbo V6, the more powerful GranTurismo Trofeo with the same engine, and the battery-electric GranTurismo Folgore. All three are all-wheel drive. Maserati’s UK site now presents the line-up as the “New GranTurismo” for the 2027 model year, with a reshaped nose, more power for the Trofeo and a longer quoted range for the Folgore.
Every figure below was collected on 2 October 2026 from Maserati’s UK website and configurator, GOV.UK, Euro NCAP, Auto Express and Carwow, and each is attributed. On price, power and range those sources do not agree with each other, and where they differ this page says so rather than picking a winner.
| Segment | Four-seat grand tourer, two-door coupé |
| Versions on sale | GranTurismo, GranTurismo Trofeo and GranTurismo Folgore, each listed as model year 2027 on Maserati’s UK configurator |
| Prices starting from | £127,920 (GranTurismo), £151,680 (Trofeo), £129,605 (Folgore) |
| Powertrains | 3.0-litre twin-turbo V6 petrol with 490 PS or 590 PS; three electric motors and a 92.5 kWh battery with 761 PS |
| Drive | All-wheel drive on every version |
| Euro NCAP | No rating. Euro NCAP’s published assessments include no Maserati model |
| Published verdicts | Auto Express 4.5 out of 5 for the petrol Trofeo (September 2023) and 3.5 out of 5 for the Folgore (March 2025); Carwow 7 out of 10 for the Folgore (April 2025) |
The 2027 range and what it costs
Maserati’s UK configurator lists three GranTurismo versions, each marked 2027, with a “price starting from” beside each one.
| Version | Price starting from | Power | 0-62mph | Top speed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GranTurismo | £127,920 | 490 PS | 3.9 seconds | 188 mph |
| GranTurismo Trofeo | £151,680 | 590 PS | 3.5 seconds | 199 mph |
| GranTurismo Folgore (electric) | £129,605 | 761 PS | 2.7 seconds | 202 mph |
The configurator page does not state whether those are on-the-road prices. Ask the retailer for a written breakdown that shows delivery, first registration and the first-year tax as separate lines.
The Folgore is where the published prices part company. Auto Express’s UK road test of the electric car (Steve Sutcliffe, 26 March 2025) gave its price as £178,550 and treated it as a car approaching £200,000; Carwow’s review the following month framed it the same way. Maserati’s configurator today starts the Folgore at £129,605. That is £48,945 below the Auto Express figure, only £1,685 above the entry V6 car and £22,075 below the Trofeo. Neither outlet’s page reflects the lower figure, and Carwow’s GranTurismo listing shows an RRP range of £125,515 to £217,975 that matches neither end of Maserati’s list. These figures are stated here, not reconciled: the configurator is the maker’s current published price, and the order form is the number that binds.
The petrol cars have moved less. Auto Express reported the entry-level GranTurismo’s arrival on 3 March 2025 at £125,265, replacing the earlier Modena version; today’s £127,920 is £2,655 above that. The same outlet tested the Trofeo at £159,630 in September 2023 and named it Coupé of the Year in July 2024 at £163,590, so today’s £151,680 for a more powerful Trofeo is £11,910 below the 2024 figure.
One equipment point from that March 2025 report is worth carrying to the showroom: when the entry car was introduced, matrix LED headlights and the Sonus Faber stereo moved to its options list. The configurator carries a standard-equipment list for each version, so read the entry car’s before comparing its price with the Trofeo’s.
What changed for the 2027 model year
Auto Express reported the update on 18 June 2026 (Ellis Hyde), and Maserati’s UK pages now describe the same car. The changes that matter to a buyer:
- Front end and wheels. A redesigned front bumper with updated side intakes and a revised splitter, plus clear-lens tail-lights, per Maserati; Auto Express traces the look to the track-only MCXtrema. Optional gloss-black Tridente wheels widen the track by 10 mm.
- Trofeo power. Maserati now quotes 590 PS and 650 Nm, with peak torque from 2,500 rpm. Auto Express puts the increase at 542bhp to 581bhp. The Trofeo also has an electronically controlled limited-slip rear differential, a sport exhaust as standard and a Corsa mode with launch control that the other versions do not get.
- Folgore range. A system Maserati calls Wheel End Disconnect uncouples the front axle when all-wheel drive is not needed, in the Max Range and GT modes at up to 99 mph. Maserati quotes up to 337 miles, 54 miles more than the 2026 car; Auto Express gives 336 miles and about 53 more.
- Country mode. On the 490 PS car and the Folgore it replaces Comfort mode, raising the air suspension by 20 mm at speeds up to 75 mph. The Trofeo keeps its own mode set.
- Cabin. Auto Express lists metal climate controls and switches, new infotainment graphics, a redesigned gear selector, steering-wheel paddles that swap between drive and reverse at parking speeds, and a driver fatigue monitor. Maserati adds a flat-bottomed steering wheel for the Trofeo.
One caution on all of it: Maserati’s Folgore page carries a footnote that its reported data is pending homologation, and the 337-mile range is described as subject to that process. Treat the range as provisional until a certified figure appears on the order paperwork.
Key specifications
These are Maserati’s published UK figures for the 2027 cars, read from the specification panel on each version’s page, except where another source is named.
| Item | GranTurismo | Trofeo | Folgore |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engine or motors | 3.0-litre twin-turbo V6, 88 mm bore and 82 mm stroke | 3.0-litre twin-turbo V6, 88 mm bore and 82 mm stroke | Three 300 kW permanent-magnet motors, 800-volt system |
| Power | 490 PS | 590 PS | 761 PS |
| Torque | 600 Nm at 3,000 rpm | 650 Nm from 2,500 rpm | 1,350 Nm |
| Drive | All-wheel drive | All-wheel drive | All-wheel drive |
| Gearbox (Auto Express) | Eight-speed automatic | Eight-speed automatic | Single-speed |
| 0-62mph | 3.9 seconds | 3.5 seconds | 2.7 seconds |
| Top speed | 188 mph | 199 mph | 202 mph |
| Battery | Not applicable | Not applicable | 92.5 kWh gross, 83 kWh net |
| Range | Not applicable | Not applicable | Up to 337 miles, pending homologation |
| Rapid charging | Not applicable | Not applicable | Up to 270 kW DC |
| Length | 4,969 mm | 4,976 mm | 4,969 mm |
| Width without mirrors | 1,957 mm | 1,957 mm | 1,957 mm |
| Height | 1,358 mm | 1,358 mm | 1,358 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2,929 mm | 2,929 mm | 2,929 mm |
| Boot | 310 litres | 310 litres | 270 litres |
| Tyres | 265/35 ZR20 front, 295/30 ZR21 rear | 265/35 ZR20 front, 295/30 ZR21 rear | 265/35 ZR20 front, 295/30 ZR21 rear |
| Kerb weight (Auto Express) | Not published in the sources read | 1,795 kg in its 2023 road test | Close to 2.3 tonnes in its 2025 road test |
Two things in that table need a note.
Power units. Maserati’s specification panels print “HP” and its page text prints “CV” for the same numbers; both are metric horsepower, shown here as PS. Auto Express converts them to 483bhp for the entry car and 581bhp for the Trofeo. On the Folgore the outlet’s own pages differ: its March 2025 road test gives 751bhp, which is the conversion of 761 PS, while its June 2026 news report gives 761bhp.
Fuel economy and CO2. Maserati’s UK specification panels showed no fuel-consumption or CO2 figure for the 2027 petrol cars on the day they were read. The most recent UK figure in the sources used here is from Auto Express’s September 2023 road test of the 542bhp Trofeo: 27.8 mpg and 230 g/km. That belongs to the earlier engine tune, so ask the retailer for the current WLTP figures in writing. As the next section shows, the CO2 number decides the first tax bill.
Road tax: a £4,840 first-year gap between petrol and electric
GOV.UK’s vehicle tax rate tables, read on 2 October 2026, set these rates for cars registered now:
| Charge | Petrol GranTurismo and Trofeo | Folgore |
|---|---|---|
| First-year rate | £4,850 at 226 to 255 g/km; £3,420 at 191 to 225 g/km; £5,690 above 255 g/km | £10 (0 g/km) |
| Standard rate, second licence onwards | £200 a year | £200 a year |
| Additional rate for expensive cars | £440 a year for five years from the second licence (list price over £40,000) | £440 a year for five years from the second licence (list price over £50,000 for an electric car) |
| Total in years two to six | £640 a year | £640 a year |
If a 2027 petrol car is certified at or near the 230 g/km Auto Express published for the earlier Trofeo, its first-year rate is £4,850 against £10 for the Folgore: a £4,840 difference at registration. After that the two pay the same £640 a year until the sixth licence and £200 from then on, because every GranTurismo is far above both list-price thresholds.
The band edge is close enough to matter. 230 g/km is five grams above the 225 g/km boundary, below which the first-year rate falls to £3,420, a difference of £1,430. Wheel and tyre choices can move a WLTP figure, so get the certified CO2 for the exact car on the order form before signing.
Outlets’ tax figures date quickly. Carwow’s April 2025 Folgore review quotes a first-year bill of £435 including the expensive-car charge; GOV.UK’s table today gives £10 in the first year and £640 a year for the five licences after it. Our explainer on the April 2026 car tax changes covers the £50,000 threshold for electric cars.
Folgore: range and charging
Maserati’s UK page describes an 800-volt system with a 92.5 kWh battery, 83 kWh of it usable. On a 270 kW DC charger it says about 62 miles of range can be added in around five minutes; on a 400-volt network at 50 kW the same five minutes adds about 16 miles. An optional home wallbox delivers between 3 kW and 22 kW.
The published road tests are all of the car before the 2027 update, and they agree with each other more than they agree with the brochure:
- Auto Express, March 2025: an official range of 280 miles; the test route ended with 69 per cent charge and 146 miles showing, which the outlet worked out as just under 200 miles from a full battery. It quotes 10 to 80 per cent in 18 minutes at the 270 kW peak.
- Carwow, April 2025: a claimed range of 270 miles and an expectation of about 200 in real conditions. At motorway speeds its testers recorded efficiency as low as 2.0 miles per kWh, which the review equates to 166 miles. It estimates about 11 hours for a charge on a 6.4 kW home unit.
So the earlier car carries three official ranges in three places: 280 miles at Auto Express, 270 miles at Carwow, and the 283 miles implied by Maserati’s statement that the new car goes 54 miles further. None of the sources read for this page has yet tested a 2027 Folgore with the front-axle disconnect, so the gain from 280-odd to 337 miles is the maker’s claim and, on its own wording, still awaiting homologation.
Charging at the Folgore’s full rate needs an 800-volt charger rated at 270 kW or more. Our guide to comparing public charging networks explains what to look for.
Interior, seats and boot
Maserati sells the GranTurismo as a car for a driver and three passengers, and the reviewers broadly accept the claim. Auto Express’s 2024 award citation says the rear seats can hold two full-size people in relative comfort, which it contrasts with almost all of the car’s rivals. Carwow’s Folgore review is more guarded: four adults just about fit, but not for a long journey, while children fit easily and the rear seats have ISOFIX points.
The boot is the weaker half of the practicality story. Maserati gives 310 litres for both V6 cars and 270 litres for the Folgore. Auto Express compares the Folgore’s boot with an average supermini’s and notes a small step in the floor caused by the rear motor layout; Carwow adds that there is no front boot, and that a narrow load-through hatch is the only way to carry something long.
On the cabin itself, Auto Express’s 2023 road test describes two touchscreens on a single angled panel, the lower one handling climate, with a row of four buttons between them to select gears, and found the main interface worked well. Later tests are less kind. Carwow found the upper screen slow to respond and laid out for left-hand drive, with its shortcut buttons on the far side from a British driver. Auto Express’s 2025 Folgore test reported creaks from the dashboard and carpets that marked easily. Maserati’s pages list a 12.3-inch infotainment display, and Auto Express lists air suspension with adaptive dampers on every version.
What the published road tests say
True Motion Auto has not driven the GranTurismo; this section reports named testers’ findings.
Petrol. Auto Express’s Jordan Katsianis tested the Trofeo in September 2023 and scored it 4.5 out of 5. His report praises the ride in the GT and Comfort modes, a quick eight-speed automatic and strong grip from the all-wheel-drive system, and finds the steering quick but light on feel. The recurring theme is weight: at 1,795 kg the car sits well below the two tonnes typical of the class, and the 2024 award citation puts it 500 to 600 kg lighter than the plug-in hybrid Bentley Continental GT. The reservation is the engine’s character. The V6 replaced a naturally aspirated V8, and the verdict allows that some buyers will feel the car lost something with it. Those findings are for the 542bhp car, not the 2027 Trofeo.
Electric. The same outlet’s Steve Sutcliffe scored the Folgore 3.5 out of 5 in March 2025: extremely fast, supple at town speeds and agile for a car of nearly 2.3 tonnes, but wide on narrow British back roads and subject to the usual electric-car penalties of weight, efficiency and range. Carwow’s 7 out of 10 lands in a similar place. Its review rates the Folgore as less involving than the slower V6, says the air suspension fidgets even in its softest setting, and records a stop from 60mph in 35 metres.
Carwow’s separate page for the GranTurismo carries a 6 out of 10, but the review text beneath it describes the previous V8-engined car launched in 2007. It is not a verdict on this generation and is not counted in our score.
Safety and ratings
No Euro NCAP rating: its published assessments include no Maserati model (checked 2 October 2026 against Euro NCAP’s sitemap of assessment pages). Carwow’s review makes the same point about the Folgore.
With no independent crash result, the listed equipment is what there is to go on. Carwow names speed-limit warnings, lane-keeping steering, adaptive cruise control and automatic emergency braking as standard, and reports that some of those systems were confused by poor road markings during its test. Auto Express lists active cruise control and a rear-view camera as standard on the entry car and a driver fatigue monitor as new for 2027. Our guide to comparing safety ratings explains what each testing body measures.
Warranty and servicing
Maserati’s UK ownership pages, read on 2 October 2026, describe the extension and servicing programmes rather than the basic cover:
| Extended Warranty | The dedicated page, which names the GranTurismo, says cover can be extended up to the fifth year with no mileage limit. The service and assistance hub page says up to the seventh year. Maserati’s own pages disagree, and both note that availability varies by market and model |
| Extra10 Warranty | Extends cover on driveline components up to the tenth year with no mileage limit |
| Maintenance plans | Maintenance Premium covers the first three services; Maintenance 10 covers the fourth to the tenth. Separate plans are listed for Folgore models |
| Roadside assistance | Free for 12, 24 or 36 months, depending on country and warranty terms |
The pages read for this review do not state the length of the standard new-car warranty for the UK, or the terms of the Folgore’s battery cover. Ask the retailer for both in writing, along with which extension limit, fifth year or seventh, applies to the car being ordered.
On reliability there is little independent data. Carwow notes that neither Maserati nor its models appear in the most recent Driver Power owner-satisfaction survey.
Rivals the reviewers name
This page does not carry a rival specification table, because rival figures were not collected and checked for it. What the sources say:
- Auto Express’s 2023 test sets the Trofeo against the Bentley Continental GT V8 S and the Porsche 911 Turbo on price, and notes that it reaches 62mph sooner than the 671bhp Aston Martin DB12.
- Carwow’s Folgore review names the Porsche Taycan Turbo and the Mercedes-AMG EQS 53 as alternatives that are about as quick, go further on a charge and have more room.
Two further pages on this site cover neighbouring ground: the McLaren GT, a mid-engined two-seat take on the same brief that is now a used-only buy in Britain, and the Rolls-Royce Spectre, another electric two-door.
Pros & Cons
Pros
- Strong published verdicts for the petrol car: 4.5 out of 5 and a Coupé of the Year award from Auto Express
- Rear seats that two reviewers accept adults can use, which is unusual in this class
- The Folgore starts £1,685 above the entry V6 on Maserati’s configurator and pays £10 in first-year tax
- 270 kW rapid charging on an 800-volt system
- Air suspension on every version, with a raised Country mode on two of them
Cons
- No Euro NCAP rating to compare with rivals
- Published Folgore prices differ by almost £49,000 between the maker’s configurator and the outlets’ tests
- The 337-mile range is not yet homologated, and no CO2 figure is shown for the 2027 petrol cars
- Real-world Folgore range of about 200 miles in both road tests of the earlier car; 270-litre boot
- Slow touchscreen (Carwow) and cabin creaks (Auto Express) on test cars
- The standard UK warranty term is not stated on the Maserati pages read
Buyer checkpoints
| Check | Why it matters on this car |
|---|---|
| The price basis | Maserati’s configurator shows a “price starting from” without saying what it includes. Get an on-the-road breakdown in writing, and for the Folgore set it against the far higher figures still shown in outlets’ reviews. |
| Certified CO2 | Not shown on Maserati’s UK pages for the 2027 petrol cars. 225 g/km or below means £3,420 in the first year; 226 g/km or above means £4,850. |
| Entry-car equipment | Auto Express reported matrix LED headlights and the Sonus Faber stereo as options on the entry version. Price them before comparing with the Trofeo. |
| Folgore range | 337 miles is the maker’s provisional figure. Ask for the homologated WLTP range, and plan journeys on the roughly 200 miles both outlets saw from the earlier car until a 2027 test exists. |
| Home charging | The wallbox is optional and rated from 3 kW to 22 kW. Carwow estimates about 11 hours on a 6.4 kW unit. |
| Warranty | Get the standard term, the Folgore battery cover and the extension limit in writing; Maserati’s UK pages give the extension as fifth year in one place and seventh in another. |
| Boot and rear seats | 310 litres on the V6 cars, 270 litres on the Folgore. Try the rear seats and the boot opening with the luggage you actually carry. |
Overall Rating
4.0 / 5
True Motion Auto has not independently road-tested this vehicle. Specifications, pricing and performance figures are compiled from manufacturer technical data and published independent tests, and are attributed where quoted. Our score reflects a structured research assessment of specifications, pricing, safety data and owner feedback for the segment — not an independent road test. Read how we review cars.
Four out of five sits midway between Auto Express’s 4.5 for the petrol Trofeo and its 3.5 for the Folgore, and is consistent with Carwow’s 7 out of 10 for the electric car. The petrol versions carry the stronger published record; the score is held back by the absence of any independent crash rating, by unsettled official figures for the 2027 cars and by warranty terms a buyer has to ask for. The previous 4.8 on this page had no stated basis.
Final Verdict
On the published evidence the petrol GranTurismo is the easier car to recommend: a class award, a 4.5 out of 5 road test, rear seats adults can use and a kerb weight well below its obvious rivals. The 2027 Trofeo adds power to that formula, and at £151,680 it is listed below the price Auto Express quoted for the less powerful car two years ago.
The Folgore is the version whose case has changed most on paper. At the £178,550 the testers were quoted it was hard to justify against a real-world range near 200 miles. At the £129,605 on Maserati’s configurator, with a £10 first-year tax bill and a claimed 337 miles, it is close to the entry V6 on price. Both of those new numbers need confirming before they are relied on: the price with a retailer’s written quote, the range with a homologated figure.
More Maserati reviews: Maserati Grecale Review, Maserati Levante Review and Maserati MC20 Review. Auto Express reports that the MC20 has since been renamed MCPura, the name Maserati’s UK model menu now uses.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Maserati GranTurismo cost in the UK?
Is the GranTurismo Folgore cheaper than the petrol Trofeo?
What is the range of the Maserati GranTurismo Folgore?
How much is road tax on a Maserati GranTurismo?
Does the Maserati GranTurismo have a Euro NCAP rating?
Can adults sit in the back of a Maserati GranTurismo?
Sources
All figures on this page were collected on 2 October 2026 from the sources below. Where they disagree, the disagreement is stated in the text.
| Source | Used for |
|---|---|
| Maserati UK, GranTurismo range page and the GranTurismo, Trofeo and Folgore pages, read 2 October 2026 | The three-version 2027 line-up; power, torque, acceleration, top speed, dimensions, boot volumes and tyre sizes; battery, charging and range statements and the homologation footnote; drive modes, suspension and design changes |
| Maserati UK, configurator, read 2 October 2026 | The “price starting from” for each version and the 2027 model-year label |
| Maserati UK, service and assistance and Extended Warranty pages, read 2 October 2026 | Extended Warranty and Extra10 terms, maintenance plans, roadside assistance; the fifth-year and seventh-year statements |
| GOV.UK, Vehicle tax rate tables, read 2 October 2026 | First-year rates by CO2 band, the £200 standard rate, the £440 additional rate and its £40,000 and £50,000 thresholds |
| Euro NCAP, published assessments and sitemap, checked 2 October 2026 | The absence of any Maserati assessment |
| Auto Express, New Maserati GranTurismo review, Jordan Katsianis, 19 September 2023 | The 4.5 rating; Trofeo price, 542bhp output, economy and CO2, kerb weight; ride, steering and cabin findings; the rivals named |
| Auto Express, New Maserati GranTurismo Folgore 2025 review, Steve Sutcliffe, 26 March 2025 | The 3.5 rating; the £178,550 price, 280-mile range, test-route range, charging time, weight, boot and cabin findings |
| Auto Express, New entry-level Maserati GranCabrio and GranTurismo, Jordan Katsianis, 3 March 2025 | The entry car’s £125,265 launch price, its replacement of the Modena and its standard and optional equipment |
| Auto Express, Maserati GranTurismo, GranCabrio and Grecale get meaner looks and more power, Ellis Hyde, 18 June 2026 | The 2027 update: styling, Trofeo power, Folgore range, Country mode, interior changes, the MCPura name |
| Auto Express, Coupé of the Year 2024, Jordan Katsianis, 3 July 2024 | The award, the £163,590 Trofeo price, the weight comparison and the rear-seat assessment |
| Carwow, Maserati GranTurismo Folgore review, published 10 April 2025, updated 25 April 2025 | The 7/10 rating; claimed and real-world range, motorway efficiency, home charging time, safety equipment, seats and boot, infotainment findings, the tax figure quoted, the Driver Power note |
| Carwow, Maserati GranTurismo page, read 2 October 2026 | The RRP range shown, and the fact that its review text describes the previous-generation car |
Change log
2 October 2026 — rebuilt from sources. The earlier text gave metric-market performance and economy figures, approximate UK prices with no source, and warranty, battery-cover and service-interval terms that could not be traced to a published Maserati UK page; all have been replaced with attributed figures or removed. The line-up now reflects the 2027 model year (the Modena version is no longer listed). A statement that crash-test data was pending was replaced with Euro NCAP’s published position. A rivals table of unchecked figures and a promotional block with no link were removed, the buyer checkpoints and questions were rewritten for this car, and the score was revised from 4.8 to 4.0.
Specifications, prices and equipment were current at publication and vary by model year, trim and market. Verify final details with a franchised dealer before ordering. Read how we review cars and our editorial policy.